For the first time in 31 years the Indiana Wesleyan University baseball team has won a league championship. No. 6-seed IWU and No. 1-seed Taylor (Ind.) were named co-tournament champions after the title game was rained out after five innings on May 12. Since the game was considered official after five innings, both teams were named tournament champions as the game finished in a 3-3 tie.

The last IWU baseball championship came in 1985 with a regular season championship. The tournament championship is the first in program history and just the second appearance in the title game.

IWU is the first team seeded No. 6 or lower to reach the Crossroads League Tournament Championship Game since at least the 2006 season.

The Wildcats’ season ended May 18 in its first NAIA National Tournament appearance. The team lost in the double elimination tournament held in Montgomery, Alabama.