Head coach Greg Tonagel and Indiana Wesleyan University won the NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball National Championship to complete the most dominant run in the tournament’s history.

No. 5 Indiana Wesleyan defeated No. 10 Midland (Neb.) 78-68 in the national championship game that was played in Keeter Gymnasium in Point Lookout, Missouri. The title game was broadcast on ESPN3.

This was a historic moment for IWU intercollegiate athletics. For the second year in a row, one of IWU’s basketball teams has won an NAIA national championship. Last year the Lady Wildcats accomplished the feat. This year it was the men’s turn.

This year the men set all kinds of records and garnered all kinds of honors.

  • Crossroads League Player of the Year: Senior Jordan Weidner
  • Crossroads League Newcomer of the Year: Senior RJ Mahurin
  • Crossroads League Defensive Player of the Year: Junior Zac Vandewater
  • 2014 NAIA Championship Outstanding Player: Senior Jordan Weidner
  • 2014 NAIA Championship Hustle Award: Freshman Lane Mahurin
  • Crossroads League Coach of the Year: Coach Greg Tonagel
  • NABC/NAIA Division II Coach of the Year: Coach Greg Tonagel
  • Crossroads League Champs Six years in a row: IWU Wildcats
  • NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball National Champions: IWU Wildcats
  • First team in NAIA tournament history to win every tournament game by double digits