Three elected officials recently visited Indiana Wesleyan University to honor the men’s basketball team in the Barnes Student Center. US Congresswoman Susan Brooks, State Representative Kevin Mahan, and Marion Mayor Wayne Seybold were on campus to celebrate the team’s NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball National Championship.

Indiana Wesleyan defeated Midland (Neb.) 78-68 in the national championship game on March 18 in Point Lookout, Missouri. IWU became the first team in NAIA Division II history to win all five tournament games by double digits.

Indiana Wesleyan President Dr. David Wright introduced Congresswoman Brooks who spoke about all the hard work the team put in during the season to achieve success. She then read the Congressional Record which recognized the team’s national championship victory.

Mayor Seybold then shared a Proclamation to honor the team. The Proclamation declared March 18 as each individual member of the team’s day in the City of Marion and each member will have a proclamation to take home.

Congresswoman Brooks, Mayor Seybold, and President Wright finished the afternoon by taking pictures with the team and the national championship trophy.